Patriot Payroll vs Gusto: the cheapest full-service option compared

Patriot has the lower list price; Gusto has more in its plans. Here is what each costs for a crew of 1 to 20 at the regular price, with Patriot’s intro offer and its do-it-yourself tax plan shown separately.

Disclosure: Some of these vendors run affiliate programs. Every vendor link on this page is a plain link today; if we join a program, its links will be marked sponsored. It never changes the prices or the order we show. Details

The short answer

Price comparisons use regular monthly list prices on each vendor’s cheapest plan that files and deposits payroll taxes. Features differ by plan; check the table below.

Cheapest full-service plan, by crew size

Each side’s lowest-cost plan that files payroll taxes at that crew size: base fee + per-person fee × crew. Year = monthly × 12.

CrewPatriot PayrollGustoDifference per month
1 person$42/moFull Service Payroll · $504/yr$55/moSimple · $660/yrPatriot Payroll $13 less
2 people$47/moFull Service Payroll · $564/yr$61/moSimple · $732/yrPatriot Payroll $14 less
3 people$52/moFull Service Payroll · $624/yr$67/moSimple · $804/yrPatriot Payroll $15 less
5 people$62/moFull Service Payroll · $744/yr$79/moSimple · $948/yrPatriot Payroll $17 less
8 people$77/moFull Service Payroll · $924/yr$97/moSimple · $1,164/yrPatriot Payroll $20 less
10 people$87/moFull Service Payroll · $1,044/yr$109/moSimple · $1,308/yrPatriot Payroll $22 less
15 people$112/moFull Service Payroll · $1,344/yr$139/moSimple · $1,668/yrPatriot Payroll $27 less
20 people$137/moFull Service Payroll · $1,644/yr$169/moSimple · $2,028/yrPatriot Payroll $32 less

Price Watch

Know when either price changes

A free monthly note when the payroll prices we track change, both providers here included.

Or price your exact crew in the payroll calculator →

You'll confirm on our beehiiv page. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Every plan, priced for 1, 5 and 10 people

Regular monthly price. Intro offers are listed separately. Bundles with accounting or HR software are on the vendor pages.

PlanRegular priceIntro offer1 person5 people10 people
Patriot Payroll Basic Payroll Doesn’t file taxesDoes NOT file or deposit payroll taxes ("File and deposit your own payroll taxes"); pays workers in all states at no extra cost$17/mo + $4/person$8.50/mo + $2/person for 3 months$21/mo$37/mo$57/mo
Patriot Payroll Full Service PayrollFiles and deposits federal, state and local payroll taxes plus year-end filings; first state included, +$12/month per additional filing state$37/mo + $5/person$18.50/mo + $2.50/person for 3 months$42/mo$62/mo$87/mo
Gusto Simple$49/mo + $6/person—$55/mo$79/mo$109/mo
Gusto PlusNext-Day pay included$80/mo + $12/person—$92/mo$140/mo$200/mo
Gusto PremiumNext-Day pay and Business Compliance included$180/mo + $22/person—$202/mo$290/mo$400/mo

Year one with the intro offer

Regular price × 12, and below it the year if you take the intro price for its months and then pay the regular price. Free-trial months are not counted.

Plan1 person, year one5 people, year one10 people, year one
Patriot Payroll Full Service Payroll$504with intro $441$744with intro $651$1,044with intro $914

Patriot Basic looks cheaper, but you file the taxes

Patriot Basic Payroll is $17/mo + $4/person, but it doesn’t file or deposit payroll taxes (Patriot: “File and deposit your own payroll taxes”). That is a different job from full-service payroll, so it’s hidden from the tables above unless you tick the box, and never ranked.

Patriot also sells accounting software, which it says integrates free with Patriot Payroll: Patriot Accounting pricing.

Features on each plan

From each vendor’s own pages. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it either way, not that the feature is missing. Certified payroll isn’t listed: neither vendor states it on the pages we checked.

FeaturePatriot Payroll Basic PayrollPatriot Payroll Full Service PayrollGusto SimpleGusto PlusGusto Premium
Files and deposits payroll taxesNoYesYesYesYes
Pays 1099 contractorsYesYesYesYesYes
Job costingNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
Multi-stateYesYesNoYesYes
Time trackingAdd-onAdd-onAdd-onYesYes
Workers' compYesYesAdd-onAdd-onAdd-on
Next-day depositNot statedNot statedAdd-onYesYes
Year-end W-2 / 1099 filingNoYesYesYesYes
What each vendor says (14)

Who gets counted, trials and fees

Patriot PayrollGusto
Who is billed per personPer worker PAID during the month; billed in arrearsPer active person per month on top of base; US contractors billed at the per-person rate only in months they are paid
Free trial or offer30 days free + 50% off for 3 monthsNot stated on pricing page
Pay runs and optional feesRegular pay runs: no per-run fee published; Off-cycle runs: no extra chargeRegular pay runs: no per-run fee published; Off-cycle runs: no extra charge; Same-day pay: $90 per payroll (included in Premium); Instant pay: $100 per payroll (included in Premium); Global contractor payment: $5 per payment to US-based bank accounts

Optional fees are shown as notes, not added to the totals: you pay them only if you use them.

Patriot Payroll price history

List-price changes first seen on Patriot Payroll’s own pricing page in archived snapshots.

First seen at the new pricePlanPriceOld → newChangeEffective date (announced)SourcesNotes
2024-11-26old price last seen 2024-10-12Patriot Payroll Full Service PayrollPer employee per month$4 → $5▲ +$1 (+25%)Not announcedAfter · BeforeBase prices unchanged ($17 Basic, $37 Full Service). Basic stayed $4. The 2024-11-26 FAQ still says "$4 per worker" while the plan card shows $5: the card is used. $5 confirmed on the 2025-01-12 card and FAQ.

Every change we track: payroll price tracker.

Gusto price history

List-price changes first seen on Gusto’s own pricing page in archived snapshots.

First seen at the new pricePlanPriceOld → newChangeEffective date (announced)SourcesNotes
2025-04-10old price last seen 2025-02-28Gusto SimpleBase fee per month$40 → $49▲ +$9 (+23%)Not announcedAfter · Before—
2024-07-12old price last seen 2024-06-07Gusto PremiumBase fee per monthno public price → $180New public priceNot announcedAfter · BeforePremium price published (it had been "Exclusive pricing / Contact us").
2024-07-12old price last seen 2024-06-07Gusto PremiumPer employee per monthno public price → $22New public priceNot announcedAfter · BeforePremium price published (it had been "Exclusive pricing / Contact us").
2022-08-19old price last seen 2022-07-02Gusto Simplethen: CoreBase fee per month$39 → $40▲ +$1 (+3%)Not announcedAfter · BeforePlan restructure: Core became Simple. Per-person fees unchanged (Core/Simple $6; Complete/Plus $12).
2022-08-19old price last seen 2022-07-02Gusto Plusthen: CompleteBase fee per month$39 → $80▲ +$41 (+105%)Not announcedAfter · BeforePlan restructure: Complete became Plus. Per-person fees unchanged (Core/Simple $6; Complete/Plus $12).
2022-08-19old price last seen 2022-07-02Gusto Premiumthen: ConciergeBase fee per month$149 → no public pricePrice no longer publicNot announcedAfter · BeforePlan restructure: Concierge became Premium. Per-person fees unchanged (Core/Simple $6; Complete/Plus $12). Premium showed "Exclusive pricing / Contact us for details" (no public price); Concierge had been $149 + $12/person.

Every change we track: payroll price tracker.

Patriot Payroll pricing · Gusto pricing · Payroll calculator for any crew size · Cheapest payroll for 1, 2 and 5 employees

Links to Patriot Payroll and Gusto are plain links; we don't earn a commission from them.

Get payroll and accounting price changes by email

TrueToolCost Price Watch: a free monthly note when the prices we track change, including payroll and accounting software.

You'll confirm on our beehiiv page. Free, unsubscribe anytime.