Gusto vs OnPay: real monthly cost for 1, 5 and 10 people

Both start at the same published price, so the difference is in what each plan includes. Here is every plan priced by crew size, with the features and fees side by side.

Disclosure: Some of these vendors run affiliate programs. Every vendor link on this page is a plain link today; if we join a program, its links will be marked sponsored. It never changes the prices or the order we show. Details

The short answer

Price comparisons use regular monthly list prices on each vendor’s cheapest plan that files and deposits payroll taxes. Features differ by plan; check the table below.

Cheapest full-service plan, by crew size

Each side’s lowest-cost plan that files payroll taxes at that crew size: base fee + per-person fee × crew. Year = monthly × 12.

CrewGustoOnPayDifference per month
1 person$55/moSimple · $660/yr$55/moPayroll Essentials · $660/yrSame
2 people$61/moSimple · $732/yr$61/moPayroll Essentials · $732/yrSame
3 people$67/moSimple · $804/yr$67/moPayroll Essentials · $804/yrSame
5 people$79/moSimple · $948/yr$79/moPayroll Essentials · $948/yrSame
8 people$97/moSimple · $1,164/yr$97/moPayroll Essentials · $1,164/yrSame
10 people$109/moSimple · $1,308/yr$109/moPayroll Essentials · $1,308/yrSame
15 people$139/moSimple · $1,668/yr$139/moPayroll Essentials · $1,668/yrSame
20 people$169/moSimple · $2,028/yr$169/moPayroll Essentials · $2,028/yrSame

Price Watch

Know when either price changes

A free monthly note when the payroll prices we track change, both providers here included.

Or price your exact crew in the payroll calculator →

You'll confirm on our beehiiv page. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Every plan, priced for 1, 5 and 10 people

Regular monthly price. Intro offers are listed separately. Bundles with accounting or HR software are on the vendor pages.

PlanRegular priceIntro offer1 person5 people10 people
Gusto Simple$49/mo + $6/person—$55/mo$79/mo$109/mo
Gusto PlusNext-Day pay included$80/mo + $12/person—$92/mo$140/mo$200/mo
Gusto PremiumNext-Day pay and Business Compliance included$180/mo + $22/person—$202/mo$290/mo$400/mo
OnPay Payroll EssentialsFull-service payroll; W-2 and 1099 workers; unlimited pay runs; multi-state at no extra cost; federal/state/local filings, W-2s, 1099s and year-end filings included; no implementation fees$49/mo + $6/person—$55/mo$79/mo$109/mo

If you want time tracking or HR too

OnPay sells its extras as bundles on top of payroll; Gusto puts them in its higher plans. Regular prices as listed, for 5 people:

Plan or bundleRegular price5 people
OnPay Payroll + Time Tracking + HRDiscounted from $79 base + $12/worker ('Popular for businesses with hourly employees')$70/mo + $10/person$120/mo
OnPay Payroll + HR + Compliance Resources + Live HR SupportDiscounted from $139 base + $8/worker ('salaried employees')$120/mo + $7/person$155/mo
OnPay Payroll + Time Tracking + HR + Compliance Resources + Live HR SupportDiscounted from $154 base + $12/worker ('growing businesses')$130/mo + $10/person$180/mo
Gusto PlusNext-Day pay included$80/mo + $12/person$140/mo
Gusto PremiumNext-Day pay and Business Compliance included$180/mo + $22/person$290/mo

The bundles and plans don’t include identical features; the notes are each vendor’s own wording.

Features on each plan

From each vendor’s own pages. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it either way, not that the feature is missing. Certified payroll isn’t listed: neither vendor states it on the pages we checked.

FeatureGusto SimpleGusto PlusGusto PremiumOnPay Payroll Essentials
Files and deposits payroll taxesYesYesYesYes
Pays 1099 contractorsYesYesYesYes
Job costingNot statedNot statedYesNot stated
Multi-stateNoYesYesYes
Time trackingAdd-onYesYesAdd-on
Workers' compAdd-onAdd-onAdd-onYes
Next-day depositAdd-onYesYesNot stated
Year-end W-2 / 1099 filingYesYesYesYes
What each vendor says (12)

Who gets counted, trials and fees

GustoOnPay
Who is billed per personPer active person per month on top of base; US contractors billed at the per-person rate only in months they are paid$6 per paid worker per month
Free trial or offerNot stated on pricing page'Get one month free' (pricing page)
Pay runs and optional feesRegular pay runs: no per-run fee published; Off-cycle runs: no extra charge; Same-day pay: $90 per payroll (included in Premium); Instant pay: $100 per payroll (included in Premium); Global contractor payment: $5 per payment to US-based bank accountsRegular pay runs: no per-run fee published; Off-cycle runs: no extra charge

Optional fees are shown as notes, not added to the totals: you pay them only if you use them.

Gusto price history

List-price changes first seen on Gusto’s own pricing page in archived snapshots.

First seen at the new pricePlanPriceOld → newChangeEffective date (announced)SourcesNotes
2025-04-10old price last seen 2025-02-28Gusto SimpleBase fee per month$40 → $49▲ +$9 (+23%)Not announcedAfter · Before—
2024-07-12old price last seen 2024-06-07Gusto PremiumBase fee per monthno public price → $180New public priceNot announcedAfter · BeforePremium price published (it had been "Exclusive pricing / Contact us").
2024-07-12old price last seen 2024-06-07Gusto PremiumPer employee per monthno public price → $22New public priceNot announcedAfter · BeforePremium price published (it had been "Exclusive pricing / Contact us").
2022-08-19old price last seen 2022-07-02Gusto Simplethen: CoreBase fee per month$39 → $40▲ +$1 (+3%)Not announcedAfter · BeforePlan restructure: Core became Simple. Per-person fees unchanged (Core/Simple $6; Complete/Plus $12).
2022-08-19old price last seen 2022-07-02Gusto Plusthen: CompleteBase fee per month$39 → $80▲ +$41 (+105%)Not announcedAfter · BeforePlan restructure: Complete became Plus. Per-person fees unchanged (Core/Simple $6; Complete/Plus $12).
2022-08-19old price last seen 2022-07-02Gusto Premiumthen: ConciergeBase fee per month$149 → no public pricePrice no longer publicNot announcedAfter · BeforePlan restructure: Concierge became Premium. Per-person fees unchanged (Core/Simple $6; Complete/Plus $12). Premium showed "Exclusive pricing / Contact us for details" (no public price); Concierge had been $149 + $12/person.

Every change we track: payroll price tracker.

OnPay price history

List-price changes first seen on OnPay’s own pricing page in archived snapshots.

First seen at the new pricePlanPriceOld → newChangeEffective date (announced)SourcesNotes
Between 2025-02-10 and 2025-05-12wide gap between snapshotsOnPay Payroll EssentialsBase fee per month$40 → $49▲ +$9 (+23%)Not announcedAfter · BeforeStill $40 on 2024-12-27 and 2025-02-10. The 2025-09-14 snapshot title says "Starts at $55 Per Month", which is the $49 base + $6 for one worker, not a separate price.
2022-08-12old price last seen 2022-05-28OnPay Payroll EssentialsBase fee per month$36 → $40▲ +$4 (+11%)Not announcedAfter · BeforeSingle-plan pricing at the time (no bundles). $36+$4 still shown on 2021-06-03.
2022-08-12old price last seen 2022-05-28OnPay Payroll EssentialsPer employee per month$4 → $6▲ +$2 (+50%)Not announcedAfter · Before—

Every change we track: payroll price tracker.

Gusto pricing · OnPay pricing · Payroll calculator for any crew size · Cheapest payroll for 1, 2 and 5 employees

Links to Gusto and OnPay are plain links; we don't earn a commission from them.

Get payroll and accounting price changes by email

TrueToolCost Price Watch: a free monthly note when the prices we track change, including payroll and accounting software.

You'll confirm on our beehiiv page. Free, unsubscribe anytime.